The 11th East Asia Local and Regional Government Congress


In 2010, as a core project in commemoration of the 1300th anniversary of Nara Heijo-kyo Capital, the “East Asia Local and Regional Government Congress” was established by the governments of local regions in Japan, China, and South Korea, as well as in India and Southeast Asia.

The purpose of this Congress is for representatives of local and regional governments to inform one another candidly of the realities and challenges of their region, deepen mutual understanding, and explore avenues for problem solving through sincere discussion of common issues.

We intend to continue these meetings of the “East Asia Local and Regional Government Congress,” enhancing the administrative competence, mutual friendship, and trust among member local and regional governments, and by extension, helping to complement the foreign diplomacy among our national governments for the development of a peaceful and prosperous East Asia.

We hope our membership will continue to expand for the realization of the ideals of the East Asia Local and Regional Government Congress.


1. Japan (38)

Aomori Prefecture, Kumamoto Prefecture, Yamagata Prefecture, Nara Prefecture, Fukushima Prefecture, Niigata Prefecture, Toyama Prefecture, Ishikawa Prefecture, Fukui Prefecture, Yamanashi Prefecture, Nagano Prefecture, Gifu Prefecture, Shizuoka Prefecture, Mie Prefecture, Kyoto Prefecture, Wakayama Prefecture, Tottori Prefecture, Shimane Prefecture, Tokushima Prefecture, Kagawa Prefecture, Kochi Prefecture, Tagajo City (Miyagi Prefecture), Arakawa City (Tokyo Prefecture), Niigata City (Niigata Prefecture), Kofu City (Yamanashi Prefecture), Takayama City (Gifu Prefecture), Dazaifu City (Fukuoka Prefecture), Nara City (Nara Prefecture), Tenri City (Nara Prefecture), Kashihara City (Nara Prefecture), Gose City (Nara Prefecture), Katsuragi City (Nara Prefecture), Ikaruga Town (Nara Prefecture), Miyake Town (Nara Prefecture), Asuka Village (Nara Prefecture), Koryo Town (Nara Prefecture), Shimoichi Town (Nara Prefecture), Tawaramoto Town (Nara Prefecture)

2. People's Republic of China (16)

Jiangsu Province, Anhui Province, Shandong Province, Henan Province, Shaanxi Province, Gansu Province, Guizhou Province, Chengdu City (Sichuan Province), Xi'an City (Shaanxi Province), Luoyang City (Henan Province), Yangzhou City (Jiangsu Province), Huangshan City (Anhui Province), Suzhou City (Anhui Province), Weifang City (Shandong Province), Linyi City (Shandong Province), Dongying City (Shandong Province), Dunhuang City (Gansu Province), Dujiangyan City (Sichuan Province)

3. Republic of Korea (8)

Gyeonggi-do Province, Chungcheongnam-do Province, Jeollanam-do Province, Gyeongsangbuk-do Province, Gongju City (Chungcheongnam-do Province), Seosan City (Chungcheongnam-do Province), Buyeo County (Chungcheongnam-do Province), Gyeongju City (Gyeongsangbuk-do Province)

4. Republic of the Philippines (3)

Aurora Province, Municipality of Dinalungan (Aurora Province), Municipality of Baler (Aurora Province)

5. Socialist Republic of Vietnam (5)

Phu Tho Province, Thua Thien Hue Province, Quang Nam Province, Viet Tri City (Phu Tho Province), Hue City (Thua Thien Hue Province)

6. Republic of Indonesia (2)

Province of West Java, Province of Yogyakarta Special Region

7. Malaysia (1)

Melaka State

Gedung Sate - West Java, Indonesia
Koriyama Castle - Nara Prefecture, Japan
Borobudur Temple - Special Region of Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Chureito Pagoda - Yamanashi Prefecture, Japan
The Great Wall of China - Huairou District, China
Gyeongbokgung Palace - Seoul, South Korea
Petronas Twin Towers - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Kawasan Falls - Cebu Island, Philippines
Landmark 81 - Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
1 of